Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids


Reason 318: Distorted World View

So I had that meeting with the boy that I have a crush on. I am fairly certain he doesn’t like me back, but it just feels so good to like someone, to have good feelings in my head, to have someone to think about so that I don’t think about my own weird life, that I don’t care.  Plus, even if he did like me, I think he wouldn’t act on it.  He mentioned in our meeting that I was the ‘rockstar’ of our department and that they all looked up to me. I was of course flattered, but it also gave me the impression that he wasn’t going to fuck around with me.  Once you put someone on a pedestal, you don’t really want to fuck them.

I told my ex that I think that the boy at work doesn’t like me.  She said that it’s impossible to tell about something like that in a work situation. She said that it is difficult for people to act on stuff like that because they get scared in a ‘don’t shit where you eat’ kind of way.  I agree with that truth.

But there’s also this truth: If a boy wants you, he wants you.  He will do things to be near you, to spend time with you, to talk to you, to breathe the air you breathe, etc. My mantra has always been that you should never have to chase a boy, and if you do have to chase a boy, he doesn’t want you. The most I ever get from him are fairly terse e-mails that get right down to business.

Of course, I’ve spent most of my life running away from every boy that has ever shown me the least bit of attention, so what the fuck do I know.  I finally married my husband when I was 31 because he was the first one willing to wait through my long-ass timeline for having sex (which ended up happening after 2 years of dating and many false starts along the way). That right there is why you shouldn’t fuck kids. I was almost 31 when I lost my fucking virginity. I tried so many times to let down my guard and have sex, and I just never could until my husband and I tried for like the tenth time during our courtship. Now I know that probably the reason he was so patient is because he wasn’t all that keen on fucking me in his male body, since he felt like a she inside. Now she is a she on the inside and the outside, and honestly, I think she wants to fuck boys now, not girls anymore. So there’s that.

I suppose the pathetic truth is that if this boy – the one I like at work – did show me attention, I would run away.  Once he tried to hug me at a work party we both were at, and I stiffened and only half hugged him.  It was weird between us and I just wasn’t expecting him to hug me, but he probably saw me hugging all my girl friends, so he figured I would be cool with hugging him too.  I was of course thrilled inside to be near him and hugging him, and thrilled he wanted to hug me, but I was so unsure how to be near a boy or hug a boy that I fucked the whole thing up and now I am sure he thinks I am that weird girl who got weirded out when he tried to hug me.

I asked my therapist if him hugging me meant that he is a rapist. I had already asked my ex if that is what it meant as well. Every time I ask that question, I can feel the energy shift around me. I can feel her feeling bad for me. I can feel them thinking: ‘Poor sick butterfly thinks every man is a rapist because of the males that have already used her body against her will.’ And even though I understand intellectually that every man is not a rapist, and that this new boy hugging me may not mean he is a rapist, it’s not enough to stop me from playing out the scenario in my head constantly. In my head, he is hugging me to gauge my reaction. He wants to see how much he can get away with in public so he can know how much he can get away with in private.

This kind of thought process – where a person believes that because one person hurt her then that means that all people will hurt her – this is called ‘distorted world view’. That is what I have now, distorted world view.  Because three people molested me when I was a kid, I am now mistrustful of the entire world, as if everyone is out to hurt me. The therapist keeps trying to counteract this thought process with me by having me think about some men I know that are good men (read: men that won’t rape anyone).

I want to like a boy and have that be all there is.  No sex abuse past, no rape future, no constant worrying about letting someone in only to hurt me or my kid. But no matter how hard I try, my relationship with males will always be fraught with the possibility of danger. My introduction to sexual stuff was traumatic and against my will, so as much as I want to just like a boy and have that be all there is, that just isn’t my life right now. But maybe it can be my world in the future. Maybe with this therapist I will be able to get to place of healing where my future won’t have to look like my past.

 


4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I can so relate so much to your post. Been there. Still there so much of the time, with so many of those touching and relational issues.

As always I am left thinking how incredible you are, how compassionate and caring to yourself to keep asking the hard questions, to accept that this is where you are at today and how hard that is as a consequence of having been sexually abused as a child and the the resultant aftereffects, and to still go on from there. I know you don’t get, yet, how incredible you are and how brave you are in your life, in your posts, and on your blog, but believe me you are incredible, brave, and incredibly brave. We admire you so much.

Good and healing thoughts to you.

Kate

Comment by kate1975

Awwww Kate – that is sweet. Thank you!!!

Comment by butterflysblog

You are welcome dear Butterfly. Yes I think I am sweet, but in this instance I was just trying to be factual and truthful, you are all those things. Good and healing thoughts to you and to those you love.

Love you,

Kate

Comment by kate1975

I agree with Kate, and want to add how brilliant you are. There are those who know what you know, but they don’t have a clue how to shape it the way you have, really honing in on exactly those moments that seem to clearly define everything and everyone around you. You are an expert on all that you do, and it shows. I’m looking forward to catching up to all your posts! Beautiful and insightful. Thank you, Butterfly.

Comment by sandma1half




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

