Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids


Reason #319: What PTSD Looks Like

Yesterday I came home from work and I was already hypervigilant because I knew I was coming home to an empty house.  My ex wasn’t home yet, and my son was still at school, so I was scared.  But I tried to remain calm.

I walked in the house and closed the door. I heard a noise behind me. I let out a blood-curdling scream. He’s here, I thought. He’s here and he’s going to hurt me.

It turns out that the noise was the sound of my dog yawning.

After I realized the source of the sound and calmed down, I looked out the window.  Did the neighbors just hear me scream like that? They already think we are nuts, this will just confirm it for them, I thought.

This is why you shouldn’t fuck kids. We acquire post-traumatic stress disorder as a means of surviving such an aberrant set of actions in our childhood. But it makes us scream when our dogs yawn.


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

goodness can i relate to this. the simple things become terrifying at times. thanks for writing this.

Comment by Finallyspeakingmytruth

You have a great sense of humor, and an even better way of storytelling. Thank you for this. It made me smile. I hope that when we find ourselves in that moment again, so vulnerable to our fears, that we embrace it as fully as you have so courageously here.

Comment by sandma1half

I laughed so hard at this post; the tears are still rolling. Boy oh boy, I sure can relate! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve screamed and jumped in fear at my own version of the dog yawning. Oh dear. (You know I’m not laughing AT you. ;) )

Comment by All Time Love




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 111 other followers

