Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids


Reason #320: The sexual abuse defines me
March 11, 2014, 5:39 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

My therapist once told my Mom, about me: “The sexual abuse doesn’t define her.”

My therapist has been right about a great many things in my life so far, but she was way off on this one. I think the whole problem with me is that the sexual abuse DOES define me. It’s why I keep a blog detailing the reasons you shouldn’t fuck kids. It has defined every fucking thing about me so far, from my choice of jobs to my choice of husbands to the way I don’t leave the house to every other fucking detail. Right down to the dream I had the other night about being in a room with serial rapists.

It’s almost as if it were wishful thinking. If we say “it doesn’t define her”, maybe it won’t define her. But it did before she said it, and it still does afterwards too.

I think the goal of therapy is to get to the point where it DOESN’T define me. Where I am no longer the victim, but the victor. Where I didn’t merely survive it, but thrived in spite of it.

I would like to get there, but I don’t know how. I am 40 fucking years old, and I need to sleep with the lights on because I am afraid of the dark. Her saying that it doesn’t define me is like me saying I don’t like to curse. It’s nice to hear but in the end it’s complete bullshit.

As my longtime readers know, my husband became a woman and my marriage ended. We still live together. We live like sisters and raise our son. It is safe.

My job is coming to an end, and I have a choice about what kinds of jobs to take next. The safe choice is to stay here and take the job that allows me to stay here. The risky choice is to apply for jobs elsewhere and leave safety.

I wish I had the courage to leave safety, but I don’t. This. This is why you shouldn’t fuck kids.


5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I know you dont know it yet but iin the midst of your fears you are so brave. In fact one of the bravest people I have ever known.

Good and healing thoughts to you.

Love you,
Kate

Comment by kate1975

Dearest Kate,

You always say such beautiful things to me. Thank you, friend.

Comment by butterflysblog

Dear Sweet Butterfly,

I’m glad that they are such beautiful things, but more importantly, to me, they are such true things.

Good and healing thoughts to you dear Butterfly.

Kate

Comment by kate1975

Hey, Butterfly. I had an anxiety flare-up the last two weeks (either menopause or I’m not exercising enough…) and was doing some research and came across a site with some sensible stuff on it. I found it helpful and thought you might too. Here you are: http://www.nomorepanic.co.uk
love, SDW

Comment by sworddancewarrior

Thank you Warrior!

Comment by butterflysblog




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 111 other followers

