Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids


Reason #8: We Think It Is Our Fault
September 14, 2008, 4:37 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

For the longest time, I thought the sex abuse was my fault.  I thought that if I had said no one more time to my brother, or dressed differently in front of my father, then they wouldn’t have molested me.  Many therapists had to explain to me that there was nothing I could have done to change the course of events.  They also explained to me that even if I had ran around naked saying “fuck me”, it still would have been the adult’s job in my life to actually not fuck me.  Because fucking kids is wrong.

The part of ourselves that feels we are somehow at fault for these people molesting us is the part that needs to believe that bad things don’t happen to good people.  Bad things only happen to bad people, and good things happen to good people.  But the truth is, shitty things happen to good people all the time.  All children are good people, and yet adults keep molesting them. 

When someone molests us, it changes our whole world view.  Not only do we think all people are bad, we think that somehow we are inherently bad, and that because we are bad, this horrible thing happened to us.  This is why you shouldn’t fuck kids, it fucks with our innermost dialogue that tells us whether we ourselves are good or bad people.  We are good people, and bad things happened to us.  And the truth is, it’s not our fault.  But we think it is until you and many other people tell us differently.


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] Shame and blame. That was reason 8. This is why you shouldn’t fuck kids. We think it’s our fault that you fucked us. […]

Pingback by 35 Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids: 2008 in Review « Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids

“The truth is, shitty things happen to good people all the time. All children are good people, and yet adults keep molesting them.”

How true.

“We are good people, and bad things happened to us. And the truth is, it’s not our fault.”

What a beautiful truth. Thank you for writing this.

Kate

Comment by kate1975

i think they like to convince us it’s our faults.

Comment by buckwheatsrisk




Leave a Reply

