Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids


Reason #19: We Cry A Lot
October 26, 2008, 1:18 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , ,

When I was a child, my mom used to say “Cry, petunia, cry”. She would say this every time I cried, in a kind of a mocking way. I imagine it was her way of coping with a child that cried a lot.

The Kabbalah says “G-d counts the tears of women.” It means that women understand the world more, so therefore they cry more.

Even back in Talmudic times, adults were fucking little girls. And little boys. And raping women. Then we cry. This is why you shouldn’t fuck kids.

A therapist once told me an interesting story about the Trojan War:

After a day of fighting each other, the Trojans and the Greeks would come back to their own campsites. The Trojans would gather together and sit around the campfire, tending their wounds, etc. The Leader of the Trojans would stand up and say, “Today we will celebrate! We did very well in the war today! We killed many of our enemy and wounded many as well. We saw many of our own men die or get hurt, and still we fought! We fought hard and we fought well. Today we will celebrate.”

The Greeks would gather together as well. They would sit around the campfire, tend their wounds, etc. The Leader of the Greeks would stand up and say, “Today we will cry. We did very well in the war today. We killed many of our enemy and wounded many as well. We saw many of our own men die or get hurt, and still we fought! We fought hard and we fought well. Today we will cry.”

The Greeks won the war.


6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I like this entry a lot.
It seems the moral of the story is that mourning is a sign of real strength, whether it be grieving over the loss of a life or your innocence. Those people who survive these ordeals are kind to each other because they know real suffering.
I’ve been reading “The Colors of Love” by Luscher and I happened upon this part about aggression: “Aggressive groups have a tendency to see themselves as a community of special people. The seek out weaker or somehow opposing outsiders as victims. It is not the victim who is at the root of this brutal violence. The real cause lies in the pressure for validation coming from within the community… This pressure develops when a person or group suffers from a deficit of some kind. This deficit is rarely a material lack; rather it’s the belief that we’re somehow at a disadvantage or that we’re not getting enough attention… Why do we need attention and acknowledgment? My answer is this: because we can’t pay enough attention to ourselves. We need acknowledgment because we can’t bring ourselves to approve of our own unfulfilling lives. A lot of people realize that they’re egotistical, unfair, or insensitive, but they don’t recognize that until they let go of these behaviors they’ll never be free of a sense of unhappiness or worthlessness… The feeling of worthlessness is unbearable, so we try anything in order to be free of it. In the aggressive groups and communities we’re discussing, there’s a great pressure to forget these feelings of worthlessness through acts of aggression. The great ideals that such groups claim to support art nothing more than a cosmetic illusion or even just a pretext. It’s naive not to see through these claims and to let them excuse aggressive actions.

Comment by Sandra

[…] expected to be nice about it too? I don’t think so. I was never a bad kid. I was a child who cried a lot, I turned into a bulimic and suicidal teenager, and I am now a woman with panic and anxiety and […]

Pingback by Reason #27: Fred Claus « Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids

[…] I haven’t slept a peaceful night since I was molested at the age of five. Reason 12. When I was 12 and 19, I almost killed myself. Since I didn’t, I was alive to write Reason 16: Suicide. You know how I survived my suicidal tendencies? Therapy, which was Reason 18. The other way I survived was by crying a lot. That was Reason 19. […]

Pingback by 35 Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids: 2008 in Review « Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids

That made me all the more proud to be Greek!

By the way, I cry a lot too. It’s cathartic for me. I actually cry at least once every day *sigh*

Comment by murderousthoughts

I like this entry a lot too.

I always thought that the quote meant that G-d and G-d’s heart was closest to those who were mourning and had cause for tearts. Think that includes survivors and women.

Kate

Comment by kate1975

[…] because this is not the first time the Greeks/Romans thing has come up in this […]

Pingback by Reason #313: Pyrrhic Victories | Reasons You Shouldn't Fuck Kids




Leave a Reply

