Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids


Reason #27: Fred Claus
December 8, 2008, 3:47 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , ,

Last night, the huz and I were watching “Fred Claus” on DVD. *SPOILER ALERT* Santa asked his brother (Fred) to go through lists of children and mark them naughty or nice. Fred decided to mark every child as nice, even the child who hit the #1 spot on the “Most Naughtiest List”.

The #1 child was an orphan, living in an orphanage. What put him at the top of the naughtiest list was the fact that he tried to dissuade the other children from believing in Santa, and he started a fight amongst the orphans. When this happened, I turned to my husband and said, “That’s fucked up. That doesn’t make him naughty, it just makes him hurting.”

When Santa Claus confronted Fred about marking every child as nice, Fred explained to his brother Santa that every child is good, but some are misunderstood. This totally made me rethink the whole naughty/nice list thing. What child is so ‘naughty’ that they don’t get to have presents on Christmas? I mean, I am Jewish, so I didn’t get presents on Christmas, but I never expected presents for Christmas.

The more I thought about it though, the more incensed I got. Here are kids who are getting fucked left and right, and then they are expected to be nice about it too? I don’t think so. I was never a bad kid. I was a child who cried a lot, I turned into a bulimic and suicidal teenager, and I am now a woman with panic and anxiety and depression. But do these things make me bad?

The thing is, when an adult speaks these words, reasonable people accept these words as truth. When children speak them, they have to speak over and over again until someone believes them. And then they have to keep talking until someone does something about it. And all throughout, many people willingly call them bad. But they’re not bad. Adults who fuck kids are bad. But for the rest of our lives, survivors feel intrinsically, innately, inherently “bad”. This is why you shouldn’t fuck kids.


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] This happened when I saw an episode of My Name Is Earl (Reason 22), Georgia Rule (Reason 26), and Fred Claus (Reason 27). What I learned from Earl though was that being abused by these adults in my life not […]

Pingback by 35 Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids: 2008 in Review « Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids

What a great post. I saw this movie too and agree with you. His brother had empathy and he took the time to find out why a kid might be doing things that would be labeled naughty. I liked that part the most, that he listened. We tell in a lot of ways, but very few people listen.

Kate

Comment by kate1975




Leave a Reply

