Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids


Reason #59: Gasping at the F word
March 21, 2009, 2:54 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

As my regular readers know, we have just fired our marital therapist (not for lack of need, but for her own lack of sense). Anyway, I still need to see a shrink for my own panic shit, and we still need to see a marital counselor. We can’t afford to see a shrink for me and a counselor for us though.

I was thinking about how that conversation with the insurance company would go:

Insurance Agent: I see here that you have two different therapists helping you.
Butterfly: (nodding head) Yes, that’s right.
Insurance Agent: Why do you have two different therapists?
Butterfly: Well, you see, one is for me, and one is for my husband and I to see together.
Insurance Agent: You can’t have two therapists. Insurance companies don’t pay for two therapists.
Butterfly: Well now that’s why you shouldn’t fuck kids. We need two therapists to help us survive.

Then there would be a gasp on the insurance company’s end because I said the word “fuck”. I mean, what is it with that word? It’s okay to say it at home, but out in public we all pretend we don’t use that word. And people go out and pretend they are good decent people, and then they go home and fuck kids. I figure as long as people are fucking kids, I am going to go ahead and use those words to describe it. It’s not a pretty word to hear, and it’s even less pretty to live through it.


4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

AMEN. I like that you use that word to describe it, because that is exactly what it is. It’s not “making love” to kids, ack!!! Keep saying it and say it loudly for all of us that have been fucked. *Hugs*

Comment by murderousthoughts

People who aren’t survivors just don’t get it. I got asked by some bureaucrat or other once years ago why I’d had several different therapists over a span of a few years. I had to explain, patiently and logically, that since I was a poor student at the time, I saw one therapist as long as they could see me under whatever program funded them, and then had to move on. I could tell the person who asked was asking because she thought that it meant I was *extra* crazy (aren’t all survivors inappropriately needy, disruptive and dangerous, after all?) since I couldn’t stick to one therapist. Your family has a right to two therapists. It is an accepted therapeutic practise for marital therapy to be done by someone different from your personal therapist. I don’t use ‘fuck’ myself to describe abuse because I try to keep abuse and sex as separate concepts as much as possible in my own head, but I respect your use of it.

Comment by sworddancewarrior

Hi Butterfly,

“Your family has a right to two therapists. It is an accepted therapeutic practise for marital therapy to be done by someone different from your personal therapist.”

I agree with SDW. This is common practice. I’m so glad that you dumped that marital therapist, what an incompetent.

I also don’t use fuck. I understand what you are saying and I see the value of it. I understand the shock and vulgar value that it can have and respect you and your blog. You are saying and doing important healing work.

I just tend to use rape. I find that it cam be as shocking and repulsive to others. The denial in our society is so strong, which is tragic. So I do understand the use of the word fuck and I applaud your courage in using it.

Kate

Comment by kate1975

[…] I made an appointment with a second therapist.  I hope she is good. Leave a Comment Leave a Comment so far Leave a comment RSS feed for […]

Pingback by Reason #185: That fucking ant « Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids




Leave a Reply

