Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids


Reason #93: George Strait

Among all of my mishegas is this song “Run” by George Strait. It’s such a pretty song, and when it first came out I listened to it a lot. However, it seemed like every time I listened to it, I lost someone. Now, it usually turned out that each person I lost wasn’t really so good for me anyway, but still I got to be afraid of the song. When the huz and I started dating, I got real scared of the song and forbade the song in my near proximity.

As you all know, I went away with the huz this last week. I Tivo’d the country music special about George Strait. Sure enough, Taylor Swift sang that song, my beloved but fearful song. She did a lovely job, and I love the song just as much now as I did then.

I am of course terrified that I am going to lose someone now. I did the unthinkable, listen to a song that has scary things happen when I hear it. And this is why you shouldn’t fuck kids, because I believe that a song has scary properties attached to it just by virtue of me listening to it. I suppose it’s ridiculous. I even feel ridiculous typing it out. But the more I think about it, why is it any more ridiculous than anything else? It’s ridiculous for a babysitter to come into our home and molest two little children, so why is being afraid of a song any more ridiculous than that? Now that I know for sure that such things happen to kids, I am afraid of songs.


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi butterfly,

I can understand this.

On the plus side, if this happens again, it will be someone who you should have out of your life.

Good and healing thoughts to you.

Kate

Comment by kate1975

On another plus side – if you *don’t* lose anyone you’ve weakened the power of the anxiety attached to this song. So iether way you win, really.

Blessings to you,
SDW

Comment by sworddancewarrior




Leave a Reply

