Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids


Reason #113: Popcorn

Today the huz was telling me yet another story from his idyllic childhood. He was telling me about the different types of popcorn that his family had. It seems so simple, right? Something that any family could take for granted.

He told me that they used to have the kind of popcorn-popper that you put a little oil into it and then you have a cup for the butter on top, and as the popcorn pops in the oil, the butter heats to the point you can melt it onto the freshly popped popcorn. He also told me about the Jiffy-Pop, which he said was a lot more fun because he could watch the popcorn pop. Then he told me about the air popper, which he said he and his family all agreed sucked after eating delicious buttered popcorn.

The whole thing evoked such images in my head. Him and his father and sister watching while their mom lovingly popping corn for them. It’s one of a million stories that he’s told me that evokes similar images. And as always, I feel like Jenny in the movie Forrest Gump. The whole time he’s experiencing all this love in his family, there I am, just like Jenny, getting fucked by people who should be protecting me. This is why you shouldn’t fuck kids.

Inevitably, he said “Did you guys do that too?” I didn’t know what to say. Did we have the popcorn popper? Sure we did. But can I recall happy memories like that? No. Finally, I answered him, feeling like an asshole. I said “Yeah, we had that popper too.”


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m so with you here. I don’t have a lot of happy family related memories iether. Most of the happy times were with extended family on vacations to visit them, or when they’d visit.

Comment by sworddancewarrior

I can relate too. There were the normal family activities but I was pushed aside and scorned all the time, the eternal scapegoat. Yes I had popcorn but there was a rapist in the room, not the same, not safe, not fun. I’m sorry you can’t didn’t experience the family life your huz had.

Good and healing thoughts to you.

Kate

Comment by kate1975

My only remark here for you is that you can see all this love from his family as yours too, now. I don’t mean to snub your own memories. I just think that Jenny, while she never had the love that Forrest appreciated, she was just as capable and willing to give that love back in spite of all those terrible memories. And now you both are able to make popcorn in so many delicious ways for your son. There’s nothing wrong with being jealous of another person’s childhood, as much as there’s nothing wrong with feeling jealous of other people he has loved. Let that jealousy feed generosity & transform into enthusiasm.

Comment by sandma1half




Leave a Reply

