Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids


Reason #120: Child Rape dreams
August 27, 2009, 12:38 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

This morning, I came downstairs with the baby and kissed my husband good morning. He said “Hi Baby, how’d you sleep?” (He’d already been up for a few hours – he likes to exercise in the morning.) I said “Oh, shitty. All night long I kept having the same nightmare about the rape of a child and the rapist.” I looked up at my husband and his face looked absolutely horrified.

What’s funny about this is the fact that for him, the whole experience was beyond belief, whereas for me, this was one of a million such dreams that I have had in my 35 years on this Earth. When I get stressed, this is how I handle it, with terrible dreams of child sexual abuse. One of the many reasons you shouldn’t fuck kids.


9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey Butterfly,
Blessings to you – may today be a good day.
SDW

Comment by sworddancewarrior

does you husband not know about your csa experiences ?

Comment by gracielovesme

It is hard to sleep with that on your conscience. I think you have a great burden to bear, but you also have done a great thing with it by making it your responsibility to reach out to other children and adults alike who share the same burden. This is something that affects all of us whether or not we like it, and I believe you are doing us all a favor by putting it out there in black and white, no apologies and not a care of who is reading be it victim or perp.
Thank you for sharing your dreams, Butterfly. Thank you for showing us that it is indeed possible to keep going with flying colors.

Comment by sandma1half

Funny how heinous shyt like this becomes “normal” for us. We forget – or perhaps we’ve never known – that there is a “better kind of normal”. Thank you for sharing and I hope you’ve had a better night’s sleep.

Comment by Kerro

[…] When I get anxious, I have rape dreams. Either I am raped as an adult, or I am raped as a child, or I am watching someone get raped.  For me, the kind of evil that is rape is the scariest thing in the world.  Thus, when I am anxious, I dream about what I consider to be the scariest thing in the world. […]

Pingback by Reason #170: Scary-Ass Dreams « Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids

I can’t remember the last time I dreamt free of rape and violence. The worst dreams, in my opinion, aren’t the most graphic ones, but the ones where no matter how loud I try to scream, no sound comes out and no matter how hard I try to run, I never go anywhere.

It’s funny that I used to chalk these dreams up to transferred trauma, or my just being too sensitive.

Comment by Natalie Rose

Hi Natalie – thank you for commenting and making me feel less alone. – Butterfly

Comment by butterflysblog

You’re definitely not alone.

A close friend of mine eventually gave me a tool to use before bed that sometimes helps, though not always. It’s fairly simple. Basically, before you go to sleep, you visualize yourself inside of a big, white light bubble and only love and positive feelings are allowed inside this bubble. Negative feelings and scary dreams have to stay outside. It’s no cure all, but it’s worth it for the times it does help.

Comment by Natalie Rose

[…] is not my first rape dream, or even my second.  Not my tenth, not even my hundredth.  This is why you shouldn’t have kids.  We have dreams where we are being violated, because […]

Pingback by Reason #174: Rape Dreams on Mother’s Day « Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids




Leave a Reply

