Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids


Reason #121: It’s a public health issue
September 4, 2009, 1:14 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

I can’t help but be entranced by the Jaycie Lee Dugard case on tv. Look at what happened there. This asshole kidnapped and raped some woman in the 1970’s, was sent to Leavenworth, was freed after 10 years, and then he kidnapped and raped Jaycie Lee.

If people would start conceptualizing child sexual abuse as a public health issue, maybe this wouldn’t happen. Think about it. If this shithead was in jail where he belonged, or dead, frankly, then he wouldn’t have been free to kidnap a child and rape her into having two children.

From a public health standpoint, child sexual abuse is bad for society. All the work that is lost, the productivity, the sick time – it is shown in studies that survivors of abuse tend to get sick more and miss work more than our un-fucked counterparts. Most of the time I don’t want to leave my fucking house because I am so afraid of what’s out there. It takes an enormous amount of self-talk to get out the door every day.

I am one of the lucky ones, for now. I am not in a mental institution yet, and I haven’t killed myself. Other survivors are not as lucky. It’s a public health issue.


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi Butterfly,

I have been thinking a lot about this issue. I agree with you, it is a public health issue. It is also unfortunate that the public health aspects of this issue have been de-funded over the years.

Good and healing thoughts to you.

Kate

Comment by kate1975

HI Butterfly,
I agree too. It’s a very serious public health issue. If 40% of all women have been sexually abused before adulthood, it’s an epidemic, unfortunately a largely silent one.
I’ve been following her case too. I hope they find ways for the media to leave Jaycee alone, she’s going to have a hard enough time integrating and I can relate to how hard it is to have a different and horrific past. As much as I want to make people understand how common child sexual abuse is, I don’t envy her the stupid comments she’d likely to get for the rest of her life.

SDW

Comment by sworddancewarrior

[…] where it literally affects the Gross National Product (i.e., the economy of the nation) because we get physically/emotionally sick and skip work. Today was one of those days for me.  I woke up pretty early, around 5:30AM, with a migraine.  I […]

Pingback by Reason #300: We are not as productive in the workforce as we could be « Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids




Leave a Reply

