Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids


Reason #138: Another fucking therapist
December 16, 2009, 2:29 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

Tomorrow the huz and I are trying out yet another fucking therapist. The use of the word ‘fucking’ in there is actually a double entendre, because literally we are seeing her to help us learn to fuck each other, and also I am using it as a curse word because it’s our third fucking one.

We saw our first one when we first got married and realized we weren’t fucking each other. We knew it was weird because we were still newlyweds in our first year of marriage or so, (and aren’t newlyweds supposed to be fucking each other senseless?). She was a complete quack, and by the third session she had disclosed to me that she came from a family of gypsies, she told me the price she had paid for her home, the fact that her daughter was an aspiring singer, and that her boyfriend helped her fix up her home. That’s way too much self-disclosure for my comfort level. I like to go ahead and have the therapy sessions focus on my shit, not the therapist’s.

Our second therapist came less than a year ago, and I wrote about our experience with her in Reason #50. She was really terrible with the sex abuse stuff, and the worst thing about her was that she thought she was good at it.

Now we have to go to yet another one, because our problems are bigger than us.

I was asking my husband why his family doesn’t believe in therapy at all. My husband comes from an Irish Catholic background, and as you know, I am Jewish. My family believes pretty strongly in the value of therapy, and his family pretty strongly believes that if you need therapy, you must be fucking nuts. Anyway, when I asked him why his family didn’t believe in therapy, he told me that his mom once said “There’s nothing about my children that I can’t fix myself”. I said “That’s all fine and dandy until someone comes along and fucks your kids. No one can fix that themselves, and certainly not your mom, because she’d have no idea where to even begin.” This is why you shouldn’t fuck kids.

Man, I hope this one works.


5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi Butterfly,

You had good boundaries, even with the first one. Lots and lots of survivors don’t know that it is okay to focus on themselves and their issues during sessions they pay for or their insurance pays for. Lots don’t know how to stop trying to save others. That t sucked so bad.

The second one sounded like she was reading from a script. She didn’t know anything real about trauma or trauma therapy. She sucked so bad. I’m sorry that happened.

I do believe that there are good therapists out there and that they do help others to heal. I hope you find a good one. Good for you for trying to find someone good.

Good and healing thoughts to you.

Kate

Comment by kate1975

Wow, that is a tough one. I hope this T gives you your money’s worth (no pun…)

Really, I hope you can overcome all this.

Comment by Ivory

Man there are some d1ckhead therapists out there… but how brave of you to keep trying, Butterfly. I also hope this one works out. Good luck!

Comment by Kerro

I feel you about incompetent therapists. I hope the third one is the charm. But you never know. Keep trying until you find one that works.

Wow. And your dog. I’m so sorry you felt like you couldn’t protect your dog or yourself.

I’ve just come across your blog and I love how you’re getting this all out. You’re clever and a good writer. You deserve to be free of this crap. (Um, not that you wouldn’t deserve it if you weren’t clever and a good writer..) I’m enjoying reading what you have to say.

Comment by some people just hide in plain sight

[…] out, marital therapy, survivor of child sexual abuse, therapist So, this week the huz and I went to our marital therapist’s office, and it came up in conversation that our son’s crib is still in our bedroom.  The […]

Pingback by Reason #148: Arguing with the therapist « Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids




Leave a Reply

