Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids


Reason #142: Good Will Hunting

Have you ever seen the movie Good Will Hunting? It’s about this boy genius (Matt Damon) who has been so abused in his young life by his foster parents that he trusts no one. He is mandated into treatment with a therapist (Robin Williams).

There’s this one scene that always gets me. Will goes on this job interview where they want him to crack codes all day long to help us get into wars. He basically tells the interviewer to go fuck himself, but in a nicer way than this blog usually puts it. Anyway, the very next scene begins with him in a therapy session, and the therapist says “Do you ever feel alone, Will?”

At first, Will plays it off like he doesn’t feel alone, but the truth is, he spends his whole life trying to make sure that everyone but his most trusted allies can’t get too close to him. And when he finally does get ‘vulnerable’ with the woman he is in love with, he breaks up with her. He’s so afraid that if someone finds out who he really is – a grown-up battered child – then they will reject him. So he rejects them first.

My husband and baby are asleep. We’re in marital counseling, so you know we are having problems. It’s dark and it’s late, and I have that therapist’s question running around in my head. “Do you ever feel alone?” Yes. Yes I do. That is why you shouldn’t fuck kids.


5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m so sorry Butterfly.
I believe you guys will make it, if that is any comfort at all…
All you can do is show up and try.
My care and concern are with you.

One of my all time favorite movies by the way…

Comment by PhoenixAscending

I hear you. My husband and I are also in counseling, both joint and individual, and our biggest issue is emotional intimacy. I simply cannot bring down the wall. I’ve been hurt so much I need it to ensure he won’t hurt me too. And I feel so all alone. Most days I wonder the the hell is wrong with me. But … I know. And my husband knows too. And still I can’t let the wall down, and I am alone.

I hope you find a way to let yours down if it’s safe. Thinking of you. Take gentle care.

Comment by mymotleymind

Hi Butterfly,
Consider yourself virtually hugged. You are not alone. Some of us understand.

You’re safe now. You’re loved now.
May everything work out in the best possible way.

Happy new year,
SDW

Comment by sworddancewarrior

Hi Butterfly,

The alone feeling, that is one of the worst parts of being a survivor. Good and healing thoughts to you.

Kate

Comment by kate1975

Butterfly, Good Will Hunting is a really perfect example. I’m sorry you feel alone.

Comment by some people just hide in plain sight




Leave a Reply

