Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids


Reason #145: Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman

I was watching this episode of Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman (on TiVo), where this guy raped a teenaged child, and murdered an elderly woman’s husband.  They had a trial, and he was pronounced guilty, and it was decided that he would hang for it.  All the townspeople got pretty excited about it, and pronounced “Ladies and Gents, we have ourselves a hangin’!”

My first thought was how beautiful it was that the whole town rallied around this girl to support her, and to support the death of her rapist.  Can  you imagine how much quicker all of us would heal if all of our friends and neighbors supported us and believed us like this?  In real life, children are raped every day, and whole towns of people call us liars or whores.  

I thought about the public hanging option, and I thought about it in terms of my three abusers. 

I thought about my brother.  He was a child when he started molesting me.  If I was somewhere between 6 and 8, that would have made him somewhere between 8 and 10.  Should he hang for what he did?  I mean, he said he was sorry and I believe he truly is.  No, better not to hang him. 

Then I thought about my father.  He’ll never be able to admit what he’s done.  But we are healing.  Or at least we are trying to.  I don’t particularly want him hung either. 

Then I thought about the babysitter, whose hurts against me are so bad I couldn’t even type “my babysitter”, lest she be even more intricately involved with me than she already was.  She needs to be “the” babysitter, not “mine”.  My immediate thought, filled with revenge and hatred was “Fuck yes, hang her”.  But the truth is, I don’t know her well enough to pronounce this declaration of death on her yet.  Who is she?  Were we the only ones?  Did she fuck other children before/after us?  Is she still raping children?  Has she turned her life around, asked forgiveness, done healing work with those she has wronged?  I want to believe yes.  Maybe she was just a scared confused teen whose father or stepfather or whoever was fucking her.  Most probably this is the case.  Still though, it is quite a decision to go from victim to victimizer, no?

And these are all the thoughts I have running through my head as tears seep from my eyes while watching an episode of Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman on TiVo.  This is why you shouldn’t fuck kids.


5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That is one fucked up episode of Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman. What’s even more fucked up is that it’s not even realistic to think that our communities will rally around us and hang the bastards if we so wish. For me, and I imagine most, part of all of the healing has to do with no one standing up for us. No one protecting us. Being alone.

Comment by some people just hide in plain sight

There is only one person who abused me who I would not want revenge against and that is because he loved me and took care of me when no one else in the whole wide world did. Otherwise I am completely okay with them all being sentenced to death. But he died long ago, so there really is no conflict in my mind about this. I recall that it is often said that one child sex abuser may have 100 victims. I would like to severely limit that number down to one. But still, one is a tragedy.

Good and healing thoughts to us all.

Kate

Comment by kate1975

I’d love to speak about your site on mine- incestbabble.com – is that okay? 🙂

Comment by incestbabble

Sure – thank you for commenting.

Comment by butterflysblog

You have given me much to ponder especially with your responses to the questions you asked yourself. thank you

Comment by vickiinaz




Leave a Reply

