Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids


Reason #183: It already did hurt me
July 6, 2010, 2:59 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

We had a truly lovely 4th of July.  The huz and I enjoyed being a family, and we made s’mores.  It was the kind of family I had always dreamed of being in, and now I am the mom in it.

We went to sleep on Sunday night, and at about 4:30AM, I felt something crawling on my face.  It was a carpenter ant.  As my regular readers know, I am terrified of bugs.  Being afraid of bug was actually Reason #7 on this blog of fucked up shit that happens to us when we get fucked as kids.

So, the ant.  The huz removed it, and then went to go pee.  I got out of the bed and stood there staring at the place of my last betrayal.  The huz came back in and sighed, because he knew we were in for a long night now.  There was no way in fucking hell I was getting back in that bed after what had just occurred.

That’s the thing about bugs.  They touch you without your permission.  I was sleeping and innocent and unaware, and then this bug touched me without my permission.  Without my knowledge, my say-so.  This bug used my body to get to where he wanted to go.  I felt betrayed.

I could not get back in the bed.

The huz started “the conversation“, the one designed to get me back in bed so he could get some sleep. He said “You can be sure it’s the only one.  Carpenter ants send out scouts to go see if there is food anywhere.  There are no more.  He was the scout.”

I cast a dubious look at the bed, searching, searching for more ants, for more betrayal, for more ways that I would get hurt in bed.  Then the huz tried a different tactic.  He said “You know, they are carpenter ants.  They won’t bite you.  They can’t hurt you.”

I said “It already did hurt me.  The damage has been done.” 

I was awake in the middle of the night because something touched me without permission, the way three people touched me without my permission.  The damage had been done. 

I eventually did get back in bed, and I laid right next to my husband, all of our skin touching.  I slept that way the rest of the night.  At least if the ant touched me, I would be next to him.  He would be witness to it, at least.  Needless to say, the next night was fitful scared sleep as well.

The next morning, I said to the huz “I hate that this happened.  Now I’m gonna be fucked up for a long time until I can relax enough to sleep okay again.”  The huz said, “I know.  It’s stupid, but I hate that fucking ant.  We were just getting to the place where we were feeling good and sleeping good, and now that is all fucked to hell.”

When I was a little girl, I used to play with ants.  I wasn’t afraid of them until I was taught about betrayal touches. That’s why you shouldn’t fuck kids.


6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I think it’s interesting how your husband had a different idea of what “damage” or “hurt” is compared to you. He thought in physical, direct terms instead of emotionally.

Comment by TreatInfamy

[…] Reason #183: It already did hurt me […]

Pingback by Reason #184: Resilience Bullshit « Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids

[…] Reason #183: It already did hurt me […]

Pingback by Reason #185: That fucking ant « Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids

[…] was a spider in my room last night.  I think the Universe is trying to tell me something. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Reason #171: It takes a villageChoosing a Couples […]

Pingback by Reason #193: Shopping for a therapist « Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids

[…] when that ant fell on my head and it caused me months of panic and panicked […]

Pingback by Reason #230: Who has the power? « Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids

[…] Remember the motherfucking shithead of an ant that fell on my face when I was still married? That miserable piece of shit left me with survivor sleep for a year. A year. Last night, I was sitting up in bed frantically checking the ceilings and walls for signs of more spiders. I thought about how nice it would be to have a man beside me right now, and about how much it sucks being afraid of a spider all by yourself. […]

Pingback by Reason #315: One Step Forward, One Step Back | Reasons You Shouldn't Fuck Kids




Leave a Reply

