Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids


Reason #221: Superman cries
February 9, 2011, 9:08 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

Were you guys ever fascinated by superheroes?  When I started my healing journey, I became fascinated with Superman and Batman.  Superman – he has all these powers, and yet he always chooses good.  And Batman – Batman had a totally tragic childhood, watching his parents get killed in front of him, and he used his trauma to help the world.

So I had one of my alone sessions with the marital therapist.  I of course started to cry, as per my usual with this therapist. I mean, with my other therapists, I maybe cried twice with each of them.  With this one, I have lost count how many times I have cried so far.  It’s happened in almost every alone session so far. It’s gotten to the point where when I first walk into the room, I look for the tissues to make sure they’re nearby.

I said to the therapist “Can we talk about this, the crying?  I feel like it’s a third person in the room with us.”

She said “Sure.  What would you like to talk about with it?”

I said “Well, frankly, it’s weird.  I mean, I have cried more with you than any of my other therapists combined.  And I think that’s weird.  I mean, this is by far NOT the most painful time in my life.  I used to want to die, and I used to cut myself, and I used to throw up three times a day.  I was in a lot more pain then, and yet I’m crying so much now.”

She replied “Well, maybe that is because you feel safe enough to cry now.  When you were going through the trauma, you weren’t safe to cry because you didn’t have the luxury of crying.  All energy went towards survival, and it sure wasn’t safe to cry.  Maybe we should talk about what is upsetting you about the tears?”

I said “Well, it’s vulnerable and embarrassing.  It’s like a weakness.  I am showing you my insides, and it makes me feel vulnerable.”

She said “Well, I don’t see tears as a weakness.  Tears are a sign of strength, of someone who is facing some tough things and is ready to feel emotion about it. It’s about someone who is not in denial about what’s happening for them.”

I said “I guess.  You don’t ever see Superman crying.”

Then she said “Oh come on, that’s just because they don’t have cameras on Superman late at night in his bedroom.”

That made me think.  I mean, it’s true, just because they don’t show Superman crying doesn’t mean that he doesn’t actually cry.  Does the Man of Steel cry?  Before this session with the therapist, I would have said no, but now I think yes.  I bet he too gets upset by what humans are willing to do to each other.  I bet he cries just like I do.  That’s why you shouldn’t fuck kids.


6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I think Superman cries BECAUSE people fuck kids. I know I do. Because somebody did it to mine, and then they turned around and did it to someone else, and it is just pain on pain on pain.

I just want to thank you for having the courage to write. I came here from LK’s blog (I am a mom via adoption and followed a path to get to hers) and your courage helps me SO MUCH to understand my children’s pain. I know I only “get” a teeny tiny part of it, but it is so much more than I did before, so I thank you.

Comment by watchingthewaters

Hi Watching – thank you for your kind words. I agree with you about Superman. You know, it kind of reminds me about what my mom always says about G-d. She says that He cries with us when He sees his children hurting one another.

Comment by butterflysblog

Hi Butterfly,

So glad that you have such a great therapist. Her comments are great. Her insight is great and she really gets it. Crying with a great therapist is entirely different than crying with a crappy therapist. I have done both and I know that the difference is huge. And she is right, yes people who are safe, who are with a good therapist, they cry. It takes courage to feel and courage to cry and that means you are at a huge and wonderful place in your life and your healing. And yeah I agree Superman cries, especially when he is being Clark Kent and doesn’t have to pretend to be brave and strong and stoic.

Good and healing thoughts to you.

Kate

Comment by kate1975

Word. What Kate said. Crying is very healing. I always think it’s a good session if I had a good solid cry.
SDW

Comment by sworddancewarrior

Hi Warrior – I suppose you’re right, in that crying in therapy is healing. I cry so much there though, I feel like I could do it for free at home. 🙂

Hi Kate – I love what you said about Clark Kent; I really hadn’t thought about it that way. That is so true!!!

Comment by butterflysblog

Hi there, I was trying to work out how to send you an image, but if you google images Superman Cries, you’ll find it’s true, he really does…
Thanks for your blog.
Lyndel

Comment by lyndelc




Leave a Reply

