Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids


Reason #233: Guarding Issues

When a dog ‘guards’ his food by growling at anyone who comes near his food, dog experts call it ‘guarding issues’.  Survivors have guarding issues too, but in a different way.

Sword Dance Warrior wrote in this post about being a child sexual abuse survivor : “If you’re just having sex with someone just so that they will guard you at night, get a dog.”  When I read that, I thought to myself ‘Holy shit, other survivors invite people into their beds to guard them too? I thought I was the only one!’ 

Is it just Warrior and I, or are there other survivors out there who have done this sort of thing in a bid for safety?

I can’t count how many times I have asked people to share my bed just so that I could sleep better through the night.  I invited people to share my bed just so that I would have someone to guard me at night.  While I didn’t have full-on sex with these people, I certainly did share my body in a sexual way just so that they would choose to stay with me.  This is why you shouldn’t fuck kids.  If you want to prevent promiscuous sexual activity, stop fucking kids, and we will stop using our bodies to get people to sleep with us through the night and guard us against you.

As my regular readers know, when my husband travels on business, the idea of being alone at night scares me so badly, I would choose to pay someone to stay with me if I could.  I have long felt that we should have some sort of service for survivors of child sexual abuse whereby safe people come stay with you when you are too scared to be by yourself.  Maybe we could combine services, and get the lonely scared elderly to stay with the lonely scared child sexual abuse survivors.  That way both sets of people wouldn’t be lonely and scared anymore.

Guarding issues.  The 233rd way that surviving child sexual abuse has interfered with my normal adult functioning.


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Hi Butterfly,

I think this is a common happening for many survivors.

I lived alone for a long time, nineteen years, and had sky high anxiety and terror with that. It would have been nice to have a dog, but they weren’t allowed where I lived. Sleeping with someone was even more scarier than sleeping alone.

I think my trust was too broken, but a dog, that sounds about my level of trust, none of people when I am sleeping.

Good and healing thoughts to you.

Kate

Comment by kate1975




Leave a Reply

