Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids


Reason #234: Clayton

The other day there was an Oprah show on about a particular case of child abuse where the father and stepmother kept this 6 year old boy (Clayton) locked in this tiny closet for months, in chains.  They peed on him, rubbed his face with poop, and starved him.

Oprah showed this in 2000 on her show, and had Clayton (now a young man of 19) on her show now in 2011.  When I looked at the pictures of him at the police station as a 6 year old being rescued, his eyes looked absolutely dead.  Just dead.  And now, at 19, his eyes still looked that way.  It was absolutely terrible.  (This is why you shouldn’t fuck kids.  When it doesn’t kill our bodies, it kills our souls.)

Anyway, a 9 year old girl was watching the show in 2000, and it gave her the strength to tell someone about the fact that her step-father had been raping her for 3 years.  Oprah had her on the show now to meet the boy who inspired her to do this.  Clayton hugged her.  She began to cry on his shoulder, but he didn’t know it and pulled away, thinking it was time to end the hug.  When he saw she was crying, he hugged her again, and this time he held the hug until she let go.

I thought to myself how beautiful that was.  Two survivors of terrible abuse shared in each other’s pain and comforted each other just by each other’s presence.  I also thought it was so beautiful that even though his father and step-mother were such degenerate animals so as to do these things to Clayton, he still had such beauty and compassion about him that he genuinely wanted to comfort the other survivor on the show.  This is such a sign of hope.

“We who lived in concentration camps can remember the men who walked through the huts comforting others, giving away their last piece of bread. They may have been few in number, but they offer sufficient proof that everything can be taken from a man but one thing: the last of the human freedoms — to choose one’s attitude in any given set of circumstances, to choose one’s own way.” -Dr. Viktor Frankl, concentration camp survivor


8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Butterfly, I absolutely loved the quote you used from Dr Viktor Frankl. People can be amazing. I forget that too much. Great reminder!

Comment by kerri0002

Butterfly,

I am available for hugs and I won’t pull away until you are ready to. Good and healing thoughts to you.

Kate

Comment by kate1975

Kate – this beautiful compassionate response brought me to tears. Thank you.

Kerri – It really is such a beautiful quote, isn’t it?

Comment by butterflysblog

You’re welcome. Good and healing thoughts to you.

Kate

Comment by kate1975

I saw this episode as well, and also noticed his eyes then compared to now. I could see that he is a compassionate young man, and strong despite his traumatic past. It doesn’t sit well that our souls are thus affected.

Here’s to the signs of hope amongst survivors. That’s a wonderful quote you shared.

Brittany

Comment by Brittany P.

Hi Brittany – Amen! To the signs of hope!!
– Butterfly

Comment by butterflysblog

This made me cry. It’s part of why I write and am open about my history when I can be: I remember when I didn’t know my father wasn’t allowed to rape me. I want all children to know that their parents aren’t allowed to rape and torture them and that they can tell someone. I want people to intervene always when children are being abused. I read an article about a girl who ran away from home because her stepfather was raping her back when I was about 14. I had such a strong reaction to it, and confronted my father, so that he got scared I’d tell and stopped abusing me. Many blessings to whoever wrote and published that article. When we come out, it helps children, and it helps stop the criminals who hurt them. Oprah is a survivor, and this work she does is very important. I wonder how many survivors she herself has helped by being out and showing about child abuse on her show.

I also love the Victor Frankl quote. I used his logotherapy work a lot when I did my thesis.

hugs, SDW

Comment by sworddancewarrior

Warrior – I totally agree. I truly credit Oprah as having the most positive impact on child abuse, ever. By bringing it to the public view, she helped everyone see behind closed doors, and this made it a little less easy for people to fuck kids.

Comment by butterflysblog




Leave a Reply

