Reasons You Shouldn’t Fuck Kids


Reason #308: Good coming from evil

My mom called today, and she said “You know, I was thinking about your situation with the babysitter, and it’s such a case of good coming from evil.”

I said “How do you mean?”

She said, “Well look how much she hurt you.  Look how that has fueled your passion about child sexual abuse.  You’re doing so much good on behalf of survivors, and I think that never would have happened were it not for that babysitter.”

I think that when bad things happen to good people, we all want to make meaning of it.  I think that making meaning of tragedy or evil is a human way of processing terrible things. But I really do think that good can come from bad, and maybe that is me trying to make meaning of the babysitter, my brother, and my father all using my body against my will.

I think I am passionate about survivors’ voices being heard because of my own painful experiences. At the same time – all of this comes at quite a fucking cost.  It’s true that trauma survivors are much more empathetic to pain because we know what that pain feels like, but the problem is that no one is home with us at night to see what is really happening, so the whole thing seems so seamless.

Can good come from bad? Yes. But generally it means ‘good for society’ but still ‘bad for me’.

I write a blog in secret that details every new time my child abuse history interferes with my adult life. It’s good for society because it breaks the secret, continually.  Generally speaking, I am very empathetic to anyone else’s pain, which is also probably good for society. However, I am still afraid to leave my house, and my nights are punctuated from beginning to end with fear. Even though good has come from bad, I’m still fucked up.  That’s why you shouldn’t fuck kids.


4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Dear Butterfly,

So eloquently and accurately written.

We survivors can do a lot of good, you are right in that, and it doesn’t necessarily translate into huge leaps in healing.

We all deserve someone to be there for us. You deserve that dear Butterfly. I’m sorry that you don’t have someone to do that for you right now.

Your post has gotten me thinking a lot and I am going to write about this and will try to post it this evening and I will link back to you.

Good and healing thoughts to you.

Kate

Comment by kate1975

[…] friend Butterfly posted on her blog recently, Good Coming From Evil, about being told that as a survivor she is making good out of evil. Of course she […]

Pingback by Kate Is Rising

[…] friend Butterfly posted on her blog recently, Good Coming From Evil, about being told that as a survivor she is making good out of evil. Of course she […]

Pingback by What She Said | Kate Is Rising

I think you make great points here, and that you are making strides in your life that show not only that recovery is possible, it is possible to have the best kind of recovery. I always feel honored to know these heartwarming details of your life. Thank you for sharing.

Comment by sandma1half




Leave a Reply

